Housemade Maple Syrup

Spring has arrived which means the maple sap is running here in the Northeast. Our pastry chef has some friends, Tad and Jamie Higgins from Ancram NY, whose spring ritual includes tapping their maple trees. They shared 15 gallons of maple sap with us from their own private stash. I was really excited since having lived in the south most of my life, I’d never seen the process of making maple syrup.

The sap was nothing like I expected. I thought it was going to be a thick, sticky sap, instead it was the consistency of water with a hint of maple odor. We  boiled it down for over 15 hrs.  The smell was amazing as it reduced down.

With all said and done, we ended up with about a half gallon of pure maple syrup. It tastes incredible and I can’t wait to use it. Thanks to those who helped make this possible.

One Response to “Housemade Maple Syrup”

  1. robert simmelink Says:

    Hi Chef
    I love your blog, you are always doing something fun.
    I also did syrup this year for the first time. It was fun, tastes great and I was also surprised how thin it is for the flavor. I tapped the trees on my city yard.
    Looking forward to seeing how you cook with the syrup.
    Sincerely,
    Robert

Leave a Reply

