Fizzy Sugar

Fizzy Sugar

For my fizzy sugar I used an idea that I read on Chris Windus’s blog. He made what would be the equivalent of Alka Seltzer.

I was trying to figure out a way to harvest the reaction between baking soda and citric acid and that’s when I thought I would put it in sugar. It worked out great. When you put it in your mouth it starts to fizz.

So now I am going to figure out a way I could use this for drinks at my bar or possibly with a savory dish.

3 Responses to “Fizzy Sugar”

  1. Hi, first of all, very nice blog! I was hooked and had to look through all the entries. This one about fizzy sugar piqued my interest in particular. Is there any chance you would be willing to share the recipe? I would love to do this for a tasting menu or an amuse. Thanks and keep up the inspiring work.

    • Chris Amendola Says:

      Thanks, I appreciate it. I am always willing to share recipes, all this was 1 part citric acid 1 part baking soda mix that together then, mix with melted sugar at whatever stage you would like the to be sugar at. then just poured it off to let cool. Good Luck!

      Chris

  2. Hey Chris, I really appreciate you sharing the recipe; it means a lot to me. Sorry I’m responding a year later, but I didn’t realize you had answered until now. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

